The "Sweet Sorrow" of parting

2010.06.13. 15:43

 As my time in Hungary quickly comes to a close I find myself reflecting and reminiscing on the wonderful collection of memories, challenging events and exciting explorations of the last ten months.  This year has certainly passed much more quickly than any previous stage in my life.  I can vividly recall the first day’s impressions of what would become my new, albeit temporary, home – narrow roads passing through picturesque villages, endless farmland and the welcoming smiles of Karoly and Eszter anxiously awaiting the arrival of four exhausted, disoriented and disheveled travelers.

Our imminent return to the U.S., has given me pause to consider what I have missed most during my sojourn.  I have found, quite interestingly, that what I most long for in America is also what I will most fondly remember of my temporary home.

First and most obvious of these wishes is the desire to be reunited with my family, friends and students.  Although I have no relations in Hungary I am certain that I will miss the friends that I have made and the many fantastic students I have taught.  Not only will I forever treasure the memories and camaraderie shared among my colleagues at Radnoti but I will also fondly recall such acquaintances as the young assistant at the Dominican House, the cashier at Cinema City, the woman at the local market, my daughter’s cello teacher and all of those anonymous individuals who have added color and meaning to my life.

We all have certainly missed the wonderful diversity of food – Mexican tacos, Vietnamese egg rolls, Chinese wontons, Mack and Manco’s pizza, subs from the White House, crab bisque from the Crab Trap, stuffed shells from Joe Italiano’s.  However, I suspect that not long after my arrival I will begin to long for the unique flavors of Hungary – homemade soups, freshly baked bread, sausages and the ubiquitous paprika.  I have become much more aware of the role, much more than a simple biological need, that traditional cuisine plays in our lives.

Upon our return to the southern New Jersey I will once again be reunited with the seashore and all of its sensory opportunities – the soothing sound of crashing waves, the warm caresses of sand between my toes, the taste of salt air, the smell of coconut oil and the sight of sailboats gliding effortlessly on the horizon.  As I mentioned in my first blog entry, the sea is definitely in my blood and it’s something that I have missed quite significantly.  However, those magical places that I leave behind will continue to reside fresh in my mind – quiet walks around the local lake, autumn leaves in the Mecsek Hills, the ethereal mist of the Harkány baths and the shimmering waters of Balaton.

It will be wonderful to regain the comforting sensation evoked from familiar holidays and traditions, so much a part of my youth – Halloween trick or treating, Thanksgiving overeating, Christmas, Easter, the Fourth of July and Labor Day barbecues.  In reconnecting with these memorable events I will leave behind the experiences of many unforgettable Hungarian festivals and celebrations. I will retain the memories of the many unique offerings of tasty food and traditional crafts of the Pécs’ Fall Festival, sipping mulled wine while shopping for Christmas gifts in Budapest’s Erzsébet Tér during the holiday season and stalking the elusive Busó at the Busó Carnival in Mohács.

While I am unquestionably eager to return to the familiar faces, food, places and traditions of the U.S., I fully admit that this homecoming will be accompanied by a significant measure of sorrow.  The previous ten months have passed in the blink of an eye but my memories of Hungary will most certainly last a lifetime.  Special thanks go to those who have accompanied me on this incredible adventure, my wife Chen-Fei and daughters Katerina and Adrianna.  I would also like to express my gratitude to all of my friends and family who have provided an enormous amount of support and encouragement through e-mails, video chats and care packages and to my new friends who have introduced me to the remarkable culture, history and traditions of this amazing country.  

Trackback address for this post::

https://waves.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr772078602

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

No feedback.
süti beállítások módosítása