High South

2009.10.24. 13:40

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The concept of the so called Deep South is, for many reasons, not really appealing to me. Regardless of the fact that I love having a chance to experience very different cultures, I feel restless at places that have an air of possible intolerance.

When coming to Nashville, I had a fear I might have to feel that restlessness. I am not saying that the town turned out to be not in the South in many ways. Weather-wise for example, which was really a surprise. But also when we went out the second night to a place where people were happily humming the tunes of "Hanging Tree", I felt the breath of the Klan on my neck. Not a nice feeling.

As it is usually in any part of the world, music resolves problems, however short-lived that resolution might be. Last night when we visited BB King's Restaurant, I realized any place where musicians play fantastic music must really be High South rather than deep.

Whatever color you are, you would have loved the music there. Blues must be one of the most effective weapons to fight segregation. (Pictures and the Hungarian version is on the way.)

Trackback address for this post::

https://waves.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr491471701

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

No feedback.
süti beállítások módosítása